Clean Water Adviser is reader-supported. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases, at no extra cost to you. Full disclosure →

APEC ROES-50 vs Waterdrop G3P600

By Clean Water Adviser Editorial Team - Updated October 27, 2026 - 8 min read - Certifications read in the WQA and IAPMO directories

APEC ROES-50 under-sink reverse osmosis system
APEC ROES-50
Tank system, 50 GPD (maker)
See the APEC ROES-50 on Amazon
Waterdrop G3P600 tankless reverse osmosis system
Waterdrop G3P600
Tankless with pump, 600 GPD (maker)
See the Waterdrop G3P600 on Amazon
Our verdict

On certification the G3P600 is the stronger system. Its IAPMO listings name fluoride, lead and PFOA/PFOS, while the APEC ROES-50's WQA listing names TDS and nothing else. The APEC has two things going for it: it runs on house pressure with no outlet, and its replacement filters cost less per year at APEC's own prices. Choose the G3P600 if you want those contaminants covered by a certification and have power under the sink. Choose the APEC if lower TDS is the goal, there is no outlet, and a 4 gallon tank fits in the cabinet.

What the registries list

We read both systems' records in the certifiers' own directories on 3 October 2026. Only the substances named in a listing count here; a maker's own lab claims do not.

Certified reduction only. APEC: WQA. Waterdrop: IAPMO R&T, files WC-13976, WC-14805, WC-14301, WC-13977.
StandardAPEC ROES-50Waterdrop G3P600
NSF/ANSI 58 (reverse osmosis)TDS onlyTDS, fluoride, cadmium, barium, radium 226/228, lead
NSF/ANSI 53 (health effects)No listingPFOA/PFOS
NSF/ANSI 42 (taste and odor)No listingChlorine, taste and odor
NSF/ANSI 372 (lead-free materials)No listingListed
FluorideNot certifiedNSF/ANSI 58
LeadNot certifiedNSF/ANSI 58
PFOA/PFOSNot certifiedNSF/ANSI 53

The APEC record is narrower than the name on the box suggests. WQA's NSF/ANSI 58 listing for APEC covers several models, and the RO-90, RO-Hi and RO-PH90 carry fluoride, lead, arsenic and more, but the ROES-50 line carries only TDS. Waterdrop's own product page lists NSF/ANSI 42, 58 and 372; the NSF/ANSI 53 listing for PFOA/PFOS sits in the IAPMO directory under the WD-G3P600 model number. For the APEC on its own, see our APEC ROES-50 review; for the Waterdrop, the Waterdrop G3P600 review.

Tank vs tankless

Maker specifications, read on apecwater.com and waterdropfilter.com on 26 October 2026.
APEC ROES-50Waterdrop G3P600
DesignStorage tank, automatic shut-offTankless, pump filters on demand
Rated production50 GPD at 60 psi, 30 GPD at 50 psi600 GPD
Storage4 gallon tank, 11 x 11 x 15 inNone
System size15.5 x 5.25 x 17 in, plus the tank18.11 x 5.67 x 17.73 in
Feed water pressure40 to 85 psiProduct page cites 14.5 to 87 psi as its noise-test condition
PowerNo power adapter in the boxRequired, adapter included
Pure to drainNot stated on the product page2:1
Stages58
WarrantyNot stated on the product page1 year

A tank system makes water slowly and keeps a reserve. The ROES-50's 4 gallon tank never holds 4 gallons of water: APEC's own table for its 4 gallon tank gives 2.8 gallons at 40 psi of house pressure and 3.2 gallons at 60 psi. Once that is used, the reserve refills at the system's production rate, and APEC rates that lower when house pressure is lower. Our RO tank pressure page covers the air charge and why a tank stops filling.

The G3P600 has no reserve to run out of. Its pump pushes water through the membrane when you open the faucet, and IAPMO records a daily production rate of 2,715 liters for it in the NSF/ANSI 58 listing. The cost is a power cord under the sink and a bigger box in place of the tank. Other tankless units are compared in best tankless reverse osmosis systems.

Replacement filters and cost per year

Filter prices and schedules below are the makers' own, from their sites on 26 October 2026. The yearly figure is our arithmetic from those numbers. Prices on Amazon and elsewhere can differ.

APEC: pre-filter set (stages 1-3) $29.95, every 6 to 12 months; complete set (stages 1-5) $79.99, needed when the membrane and post-filter are due at 2 to 4 years. Waterdrop: maker list prices.
APEC ROES-50Waterdrop G3P600
Pre-filtersSet of 3, $29.95, every 6 to 12 monthsG3-N1CF, $29.99, 6 months or 550 gal
Carbon blockIn the pre-filter setG3-N3CB, $29.99, 12 months or 1,100 gal
MembraneIn the complete set ($79.99), every 2 to 4 yearsG3P600-RO, $109.99, 24 months or 2,200 gal
Per year, short scheduleAbout $85 (pre-filters every 6 months, complete set every 2 years)About $145 (2 x G3-N1CF, 1 x G3-N3CB, half a membrane)
Per year, long scheduleAbout $42 (pre-filters yearly, complete set every 4 years)No longer interval: Waterdrop rates each cartridge at up to the times above

How the APEC figures add up: over two years on the short schedule you buy three pre-filter sets and one complete set ($89.85 + $79.99 = $169.84), which is about $85 a year. Over four years on the long schedule it is again three pre-filter sets and one complete set, about $42 a year. The G3P600 total assumes the time limits arrive before the gallon limits; a household drawing more than about 1,100 gallons a year through the RO faucet changes cartridges sooner, since each one is rated at that pace (550 gallons per 6 months, 1,100 per year, 2,200 per two years). Which cartridge is due when is covered on our RO replacement filters page.

Installation

Both are under-sink systems with their own RO faucet and a drain saddle in the box, so both need a place for the faucet on the sink or countertop and a connection to the drain pipe. If your sink has no spare hole, that means drilling one, which matters if you rent. APEC's box adds a feed water valve and a tank ball valve. Waterdrop's adds a power adapter and a feed water adapter, and the G3P600 needs an outlet within reach under the sink. The APEC needs room for the tank as well as the filter unit.

Which to choose

Choose the Waterdrop G3P600 if you want fluoride, lead and PFOA/PFOS reduction backed by a listing, you refill bottles or cook with a lot of filtered water, and there is an outlet under the sink.

Choose the APEC ROES-50 if lower TDS is what you are after, the cabinet has room for a tank, and you would rather not run power under the sink. It also has the lower filter cost of the two at the makers' prices.

Neither fits a rental where drilling is off the table. For that, see water filters for apartments.

FAQ

Which one is certified for more contaminants?
The Waterdrop G3P600, by a wide margin. IAPMO R&T lists it under NSF/ANSI 58 for TDS, fluoride, cadmium, barium, radium 226/228 and lead, under NSF/ANSI 53 for PFOA and PFOS, and under NSF/ANSI 42 for chlorine taste and odor. WQA lists the APEC ROES-50 under NSF/ANSI 58 for one claim, TDS. APEC publishes a longer contaminant list of its own, and other APEC models in the same WQA listing carry fluoride and lead claims, but the ROES-50 does not.
Does the APEC ROES-50 need electricity?
APEC lists no power adapter in the box, and the system is specified for a feed water pressure of 40 to 85 psi. The G3P600 does need power: Waterdrop says its pump needs electricity, and a power adapter is in the box, so you need an outlet under the sink.
Which is cheaper to run?
The APEC, on the makers' own filter prices and schedules: roughly $42 to $85 a year against about $145 for the G3P600. The table on this page shows the arithmetic. Prices change and Amazon may charge something different, so check before you buy.
Can I add a storage tank to the G3P600?
Waterdrop sells a 0.26 gallon pressure tank, the WD-PMT, for G3, G2 and D series systems, aimed at feeding a fridge or ice maker. It does not turn the G3P600 into a tank system. If you choose the APEC, RO tank pressure covers how to check its tank's air charge.
Do either of them add minerals back?
Neither base model has a mineral stage. Both makers sell versions that do: APEC the ROES-PH75, Waterdrop a remineralization version of the G3P600 with an MNR35 mineral filter. Those are different models, so check their own listings before relying on the certifications on this page.

Sources